Remember November


I was reminded of a lot of things in November. These included what it was like to hear rain on the roof, what news writing is all about and a promise I made in January to my boys and a friend.

The change of scene in my work place also herald a change in the outside weather, at least I remember it that way. We had storms which provided me with photo opportunities I hadn’t had since getting my new camera. I love a good rain storm and the challenge of capturing lightning strike images.

I’m not a storm chaser but the storm that was the start of things to come rolled in when I was waiting to pick up one of my sons after work. I’ve never stared down a rolling beast like it with a camera before and although it tested my nerves the dash I made to protect the car from hail damage got the blood pumping. Good times and very invigorating.

November is also the month the Relay for Life is held to raise money for cancer research. I’ve participated twice in this event while my best friend was fighting the hard fight but I have never attended the evening remembrance service. I couldn’t bring myself to relay this year, it seemed futile, however I made a promise to myself that I would attend the candle light service at the relay field after saying goodbye to my friend for the last time.

Attending was harder than I thought it would be but luckily my boys came with me to also remember their Aunt Daphne. I was going well until my youngest gave me a cuddle, then I fell apart. I miss not being able to talk to my friend and I guess I still had/have a few more tears to shed. The service was beautiful however and I wasn’t alone in my outpouring of grief.

The sunset on the Replay for Life.
The sunset on the Replay for Life.
Yes, we remember.
Yes, we remember.
November 2014 IMG_5358
The roll cloud that herald the first storm for months, if not years, arrival. The green tinge to the clouds was a indication to expect hail from them.
A dusty rainbow before the main storms.
A dusty rainbow, and a small lightning strike, before a bigger storm rolled in later that evening. 
A spectacular light show on the hills helped me with the slow development of my photography skills.
A spectacular light show on the hills helped me with the slow development of my photography skills.
This cheeky willy wagtail turned into an unwilling model for me as he cooled off in the bird bath. I love his eyebrows.
This cheeky willy wagtail turned into an unwilling model for me as he cooled off in the bird bath. I love his eyebrows.
The view from the kitchen window at work which created quite a bit of excitement.  it was only a shower of rain but it was the first we had seen in months.
The view from the kitchen window at work which created quite a bit of excitement. it was only a shower of rain but it was the first we had seen in months.
Leave a Reply

