I thought I had been busy but then August came along.


Please don’t miss out on the other photos in this post as August brought more opportunities to practice with my camera. A number are included here as I’m a big believer in practice makes perfect and one day I hope to get it right.

The days started to get warm again, not that they really got cold this year. I think the heater got turned on about a dozen times through what was our winter this year. I’m not sure if this was a result of global warming or just the fact the effects of my own “change of life” kept me warm with ongoing hot flushes.

I was determined to try to de-stress as work conditions got more difficult and demanding and because I missed my Sunday coffee catch ups with my best friend more and more so I was out and about. Lucky a few things were happening around town which offered great photo opportunities.

The warmer days, and interesting things to see, also encouraged my parents to come along with me on a couple of adventures. Dad stood for a good while watching the bat colony and we had no choice but wait for the steam train that was visiting town as it kept it’s own schedule. They had also waited 60 years for my eldest sister to turn that age and a get together organised by her friends saw us all have a night out.

To the bat tree. The
To the bat tree.
In full flight.
In full flight.
Taking the high road or should I say rail. The steam train make for an impressive sight.
Taking the high road or should I say rail. The steam train make for an impressive sight.
All a board. Waiting at the main station. The love of  steam trains is a sensory thing. The sight, the sound and the smell.
All a board. Waiting at the main station. The love of steam trains is a sensory thing. The sight, the sound and the smell.
My dad and my eldest niece at her mothers birthday celebration.
My dad and my eldest niece at her mother’s birthday celebration.
Hanging in there. The flying foxes have stripped the trees and are really noisy.
Hanging in there. The flying foxes have stripped the trees and are really noisy.
Good food and lots of laughs. That is what life is about.
Good food and lots of laughs. That is what life is about.
When I picked up my parents this little guy was sitting in their tree in their front yard. Apparently he was a spring regular to their garden.
When I picked up my parents this little guy was sitting in their tree in their front yard. Apparently he was a spring regular to their garden.
One of the old pumping stations along the river. As the drought hasn't let up they were just put back to work to pump water from the river for the city last month.
One of the old pumping stations along the river. As the drought hasn’t let up they were just put back to work to pump water from the river for the city last month.
Leave a Reply

