Half way through and it was all work, work and more work. June 2014.


My work life was intense during 2014 to say the least.

As the pressure increased on the sales representative to make budgets they stepped up to meet the challenges set for them. For me this meant going along for the ride and trying to do my best for each and every one of them. At this stage of the year there was at least 10 of them supplying little old me with different deadlines and contacts. In all honestly I’m amazed the right words went into the right publications at times but they did somehow. It was about a month or two later that my extreme fatigue and confusion between all the publications finally made it to the press and two, one advertisement sized, features words were printed next to the wrong display advertisement. Opps.

On the home front things were hectic too with my fathers health becoming a concern and sick kids if I remember right. I am more than likely wrong as it all seems to be a blur but I did find myself having to roam around the region one weekend to capture images for an agricultural publication that came together at the last minute, as they do.

The late notice of the layout and paging meant booking the photography department was not an option so, as is the way in print, you still make it happen. I’m not complaining however, other than not getting my home housework done and using my own fuel to cover the kilometers I traveled around my home town, it was a relaxing exercise and one of the sales representatives actually gave me a photo credit for my grazing sheep photo that featured behind the contents details.

A friend came with me for this trip which help turn it into less work as we caught up with each others lives. She has had a dreadful 2014 too and, at this stage, was in the middle of finding a job and a place to live because her husband of over 20 odd years had told her it was over. Nice guy, not.

Day old chicks. A similar shot like this was used by one of the sales reps in her advertisement.
Day old chicks. A similar shot like this was used by one of the sales reps in her advertisement.
The beautiful avenue I found myself on while looking for animal photo opportunities.
The beautiful avenue I found myself on while looking for animal photo opportunities.
Now this little girl is cute. Yes it is a girl.
Now this little girl is cute. Yes it is a girl.
My fascination with moon continued. I especially liked how this one turned out.
My fascination with moon continued. I especially liked how this one turned out.
2 thoughts on “Half way through and it was all work, work and more work. June 2014.

Leave a Reply

