Looking forward


Today is March 15. The 64th day of the year 2014 and I’m struggling to accept so much can happen in such a short time.

So far I’m not liking 2014. Maybe the trauma and drama I’ve experienced so far has weakened my positive resolve or maybe it has all made me tired and intolerant. I don’t know what it is but I do optimistically hope there is only one direction the events of this year can go now and that is out of the negative and into the positive.

At particularly low points of the past 64 days I asked friends to share with me happy events of their day. I was disheartened by the lack of response. This exercise proved to me human nature appears to want to dwell on the negative rather than appreciate the moments of happiness.

I say it is no wonder the population of the world is experiencing an explosion of mental health issues.

Yes we all have problems and yes things happen that make us feel worthless, lonely and totally gutted but, even now at a personal low point of my life, I don’t want to feel this way for the rest of my days.

My first step forward into the remaining days and nights of 2014 is to take control of my own happiness and feelings and not push the blame or responsibility for them on to other people. They are mine and mine alone and I have the choice to allow them to get me down or to motivate me to find a good, positive event in each and every day.

When a negative charge is connected to a positive one power is created after all. I’m going to use that power to ride this out and bulldoze my way through the remaining days of the year as it can only get better from here.

Leave a Reply

