Photo restoration help needed please.


Hello wonderful, creative people out there in Word Press land.

I’m looking for a bit of advice if anyone can help me please.

I have some black and white photographs taken during WWII that were the property of my uncle. I’m trying to preserve them however I have a few that have black marks on them such as this one.

(c) Jillian Carlon 2013
(c) Jillian Carlon 2013

 

Can anyone tell me if it is possible to safely remove this mark off the original image?

I think it might be the photograph reacting to the acid from the envelope they were stored in and grubby fingers that have touched them but it looks like a black crayon. It isn’t however.

If anyone can help I would greatly appreciate it.

 

If you are interested I posted a little story about how the photos came into my possession earlier.

 

Thank you and I look forward to hearing from you.

 

10 thoughts on “Photo restoration help needed please.

  1. Hi there,

    My name is Rakesh Gurjar.

    i want’s to request you for the work i have 5 year experience in photo
    restoration work.i worked on thousands of images and i restored it on
    customer demand.

    The remedial services that I provide include color and density
    correction, contrast and saturation enhancement, conversion to black
    and white or sepia, cropping, deleting, or adding a person in images.

    I also do removal of background objects, creases, dates, dust,
    scratches, stains, blemishes, glass glare, red eye, and wrinkles. I
    restore stained and water-damaged photographs. I also repair cracked
    mixture.

    If you like to give me some sample work.
    I will work on that and i will send it back to you.

    I am doing full time restoration work so i will be available when you need me.
    If you found eligible to give a work at home i will be happy to work with you.

    If i make any inconvenience to you please forgive me .

    Thank you for your valuable time.

    Thanks & regards,
    Rakesh
    email : photowebart121@gmail.com

  2. I have a few photographically skilled internet friends. Vicky tends to be my first port of call, she has the theory, the practice, the skill and expertise, and can manage photoshop too. A good friend to have in more ways than one. The thanks are all for her, all I did was pass on the link ๐Ÿ˜€

    It was her time, and her knowledge. Hopefully you may even get the original sorted. But at least you may be able to get a new print of this one now?

  3. I’ve been pointed in your direction by roughseas ๐Ÿ™‚
    Firstly, what a fabulous photo, and the story behind it on your other post is very touching.
    From your description of the damage – I may be wrong – but I don’t think it is caused from non acid free storage, I’m fairly sure this pales the image. It could be particles of the storage envelope that have attached themselves though.
    There is something on the market called PEC-12 which may help.
    I’ve never tried it, but googling it, it appears to have a good history of success.
    Good luck, I’d be interested to see the results.
    I’m no professional, but with your permission to download the photo, I’m happy to have a dabble in photoshop for you.

    1. Wow thank you. I’ll ask around and see if I can get it. My photoshop talent is very limited. Thanks for the offer. Have a try if you have time . photo is still my uncles technically however. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

