Negative people. Negative waves. A rant to get over them.


I’m really fed up with negative people.

There seems to be so many in my life at the moment I just can’t walk away from for practical reasons. You know the type. Those who over think everything, go into every contact with other people as if it’s a battle to be won and they think they know what you are going to say before the conversation starts. You know the latter as they start and finish sentences for you, all you have to do is pause to respond and open your mouth and bam; they talk over top of you saying what they expect you to say. I’m over it.

I’ve been justifying this bad behaviour with the idea this rather large group of people are under a lot of pressure and are stressed, I know I am, but my charitable thoughts towards them are starting to run out.  Take it elsewhere people and stop contributing to the problem.

So why has it finally gotten to me? It’s been months, maybe a year, since it all started and when I get in trouble for laughing something is wrong. Apparently laughing in the face of pressure is a no no, although I think it has more to do with the fact that it isn’t a preconceived response of these over thinkers.  It puts the scenario they had created into total mayhem and they responded as if they are under attack.  Warning Will Robertson. Danger. Danger. Uncharted territory ahead. Adversary is making strange, unfamiliar sound. Warning. Warning. Warning.

Okay, I’m a weirdo as I prefer to avoid confrontation. I’ve had enough of it in my life and it is so unnecessary when there are easy to see alternatives. I also try not to judge people or circumstances without knowing all the details but I’m starting to think these aggressive, negative, people respond as they would personally respond. It’s the only way they know and I don’t like spending more than the absolute necessary amount of my time in their presence.

When you are under stress it can bring out the worse in you but this is not stress, its naive stupidity in my books.  I’m sick of pussy footing around these people and their self made minefields. They are explosive devices that I’m over handling with care.

I’m the first person to say that life’s not all sunshine and lollypops as sunburn and overdosing on sugar is bad for you. So are unnecessary aggression and the eventual loneliness it spawns.

Rant over. It’s their problem, not mine. I think I’ll go watch a movie like Kelly Heroes as at least it has a kindred sole in it that also dislikes negative waves.

2 thoughts on “Negative people. Negative waves. A rant to get over them.

  1. Kelly’s Heroes is a good one. The Donald Sutherland character yes?

    It’s much easier to get on with people and achieve something if we are all civil. Negative language, postures, attitudes all exacerbate a situation and don’t help anyone do they? It’s a power thing too though isn’t it? Or maybe an inferiority complex. Who knows.

Leave a Reply

