The last thing I expected to be doing yesterday was to be attending a funeral, however I found myself walking into a church, on a week day, totally inappropriately dressed for the occasion, a little bit stunned and filled with compassion for a friend and her family.

If made to choose between a ride on a rollercoaster or one on a ferris wheel I will always pick the ups and downs over just going around and around in a circle.

There is a song sung by Ronan Keating called Life Is A Rollercoaster and it has been stuck in my head since  yesterday. One line, life is a rollercoaster just got to ride it, sums up each week, month and my every day because I have family, friends and children.  What I’m trying to say is if the people in my life are in trouble – I’ll be there if they need me, if they hurt – I’ll do my best to find a way to help make them better, if they cry – I’ll cry with them, if they are happy – I will share their joy.  I never consciously considered doing any of this, it’s just what I do and I don’t regret it for a moment.

This epiphany, and the recurring song lyrics, happened as I went from concern, to tears, to laughter and back to tears while sitting on a hard wooden pew .

The last thing I expected to be doing yesterday was

The Ferris Wheel is pretty, but it just goes around and around.

to be attending a funeral however I found myself walking into a church, on a week day, totally inappropriately dressed for the occasion, a little bit stunned and filled with compassion for a friend and her family. Her mother had died after a short illness and I was only made aware her illness had worsen and overcome her on the day she was to be laid to rest. I spoke to this friend last week and she was confident her mother was getting better, the sudden change in her condition had overwhelmed her and telling the hurtful news to others had been just too much.

A group of us, all equally shocked by the news, were met by her and her family at the church doors. Her surprise to see us raised one of the very few smiles she managed for the day. We all sat and listened to stories about the women who brought our friend into the world. We all shed tears with her as she walked slowly out of the church behind a highly polished wooden box. We all did the only thing we could think of doing to help her. Be there.

Life is a rollercoaster and a ride best shared with people who care about you.

I returned to work feeling totally useless and wishing hugs could heal her pain.

4 thoughts on “If only a hug could heal everything.

  1. This is a beautifully written piece.

    mmmm…I have recollections of two small girls sitting side by side in both a Roller Coaster and a Ferris Wheel. The first like the uncontrolled collisions of life, plunged them into a maze of everchanging bends and intersections. The other repeatedly scared the hell out of them but what an awesome view. Together they have stared down the barrel of life and counted up the bruises. Wild rides. Wild times. They shared the fear. They shared the thrills. They divided the heavy loads. Sometimes shaken but never defeated, they always held each other up and staggered on to the next ride.

    1. Thank you.
      Who want’s a smooth ride anyway? It would be boring and we could get into worse trouble through our own stupid actions. We should always consider ourselves lucky for experiencing the ride 🙂
      .

Leave a Reply

